Hip-Hop, Sleep, and Easter: The Weekend Wrap-Up

Friday:

I went to the most awesome old-school hip-hop concert ever!! This was the lineup:

Roxanne Shante was the host for the evening. She had the DJ play a lot of old-school jams and officiated a dance contest that was won by my buddy Jason “The Hater” Harris (see my last blog entry or my Facebook page).

Chubb Rock’s set came next.  Chubb Rock had the DJ play some more old-school jams, and he also performed his hits “Treat ‘Em Right” and “Just the Two of Us”.

Dana Dane was next.  He played a few more old-school joints.  The DJ for his set was DJ Wiz, former DJ for Kid ‘N Play.  He also peformed his songs “This Be the Def Beat”, “Nightmares of the Night”, and “Cinderfella”.

Big Daddy Kane (King Asiatic Nobody’s Equal) took the stage last.  He performed a lot of his old-school songs like “Ain’t No Half Steppin”, “I Get the Job Done”, and “Raw”.  He even took a few requests for verses.  Some songs he could not remember, but he was honest about it.  Later, his dancers Scoob and Scrap came out.  They’ve been dancing with Kane since the late 80s/early 90s.  They did a great dance routine. 

I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  I miss this type of hip-hop.  It was fun, people (like myself) were dancing, and there was no violence. There’s nothing like old-school hip-hop for me.  I may have partied too hard, though.  I didn’t get in the house until 4 AM.  It’s a good thing I don’t drink alcohol, or Saturday really would have been tough.

Saturday:

I slept.  A lot.

Sunday:

I went out to Oakland, TN with my brother and the mother of his unborn child.  I learned that my niece will be named Zari Brielle.  I can live with that.  I ate a little grub and debated with my family.  It’s what I do.

I also saw the Tyler Perry film Why Did I Get Married Too?   It was decent.  Look for a review soon.

I had a lot of fun on Friday.  I hadn’t been to a concert since the De La Soul tour that came to town last year.  I like the concert venue that we have named Minglewood Hall.  I will definitely try to go to a few more shows this year.  Be easy, readers!!

Leave a Reply

